According to the Broward Sheriffs Office, since the beginning of the COVID-19 pandemic it appears more Pompano Beach residence have begun to purchase golf carts. Golf carts poses a unique traffic hazard on the roadway if not properly equipped or operated in regards to Florida State Statute 316.2126 F.S... In order to operate a golf cart Florida requires:
- Golf carts must be equipped with efficient brakes, Reliable steering, safe tires, a rearview mirror, and red reflectorized warning devices in both the front and rear, Headlight, brake light, turning signals, and a windshield.
- Golf carts MAY NOT be operated on a public road or street by any person under the age 14 years.
- If operated on a public road or street the operator must possess a valid driver license.
With spring and summer upcoming soon and students staying home and not in school. It’s a possibility we will see a spike in golf carts being operated. I propose we get ahead by creating a pamphlet to educate residence who own golf carts of the traffic laws that pertain to operating a golf cart on a public road or street, and more importantly the safe hazards and concerns it may cause if operated inappropriately or if operated by minors. Furthermore residence will be notified in the pamphlet that traffic law enforcement will be enforced. So Uniform Traffic Citations are as follows:
- 316.212-1 Improper operation on certain roadways. Point assessment (3), fine- $60
- 316.212-5 Improper operation between sunset and sunrise. Point assessment (3), fine- $60
- 316.212-7 Person under the age 14 operating on public road. No point assessment, fine $30
For more information please see this document from the Florida Department of Highway Safely and Motor Vehicles.